PDA

View Full Version : Help With A Tilley Stormlight

CherryPie
09-12-2009, 09:45 AM
Hey all,

I've recently inherited an X246B Tilley Stormlight, it looks to be in good condition however I have never used one before so I really wouldn't know :(

Can anybody give me an idea of what I need to do to make sure it's all in working order, how to keep it maintained, etc?

Thanks,
Jo

Triassic
09-12-2009, 10:06 AM
http://www.tilleylamp.co.uk/

You may be able to get parts and instructions there.

Bushfella
09-12-2009, 10:40 AM
First...

Take the gallery, chimney and mantle off the lamp.

Put some paraffin in the tank.

If the tank leaks - dump it.

Leave the tank overnight to establish whether it is sound or not. DO NOT pressurise it at this stage.

Once you are happy that the tank does not leak.

Try pumping it up with a few strokes, with the **** tap CLOSED - just a few though.

The pump should be firm and even. Not loose, gritty or clunky. If it is loose, gritty or clunky, strip the pump down and identify why. It may just need a new cup washer, it may need a new assembly.

If the pump is good, then after just a few strokes with the **** tap closed, as few as five, inspect the seal around the valve at the top of the tank - this is where they usually leak.

If it leaks, release the pressure and replace the seal.

If it doesn't leak, open the **** and when you have pressure in the tank, there should be a seepage of fuel from the top of the feed pipe. This seepage should vary as you turn the stop ****.

There isn't a great deal that can go wrong with the gallery, just keep it clean. Refit the gallery, a new mantle and the chimney.

If you do strip the lamp down, it is worth checking that the "cleaning needle" and spring inside the fuel tube are working and not gunged up.

You set the mantle exactly as you would for a gas lamp, - tying it in place and then letting it burn without any fuel flowing.

To light...