PDA

View Full Version : DofE Gold Expeditions

Testarossa
03-05-2014, 09:13 PM
This post in on behalf of my daughter as I have no experience of Gold Expeditions.

There of 5 in her group for Gold. They were given a stack of maps for wild country in the UK and told to go and research areas and decide where they want to do their expedition. 2 of the lads are researching Wales and my daughter and another Explorer are researching the Lake District with one other looking at Yorkshire.

She would love to do a hike in the Lakes, but the more she looks at it, the more roads they seem to need to cross to get from one campsite to the next.

Has anyone done Gold in the Lakes and can anyone recommend a good area for doing a Gold Expedition which doesn't involve going through too many built up areas please? She needs to come up with her research by Thursday, but it's a mammoth task when she does college 3 days a week and works the other 4 days. So far, she's looked at 2 areas and spent about 6 hours researching campsites and routes without coming up with anything concrete.

If anyone can recommend a good area for Gold, at least she can concentrate her efforts.

Thanks.

jimjam
03-05-2014, 10:25 PM
I did mine in the lakes. We started in Keswick, stayed a seatoller farm campsite the first night, Rydal hall campsite the second night (well, actually we ended up wild camping but that's another story) and glencoyne farm campsite the last night.

If you pm me you email address I can send you more info if I still have it on my laptop :)

Barney255
03-05-2014, 11:49 PM
I'll dig out some more info but I did north east Lakes.

I stayed at Side Farm Patterdale, Sykes Farm Brothers Water and a wild camp up Pasture Beck

Our District have done a few around the Lakes so will get you some alternatives.

Barney

merryweather
04-05-2014, 12:30 AM
This post in on behalf of my daughter as I have no experience of Gold Expeditions.