Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tilley Lamps on Camp

Scout Leader
    Thanks

Tilley Lamps on Camp

Hi

I am still new to scout leaders role, but when i was a scout we always used Tilley Lamps back in the day.

Most of my groups scouting comes from what i remember of traditional scouting... Patrol Tents, Open fires, Dinning shelters etc...

Anyway back to my point... I have got 3 Tilley Lamps all from E-bay at a reduced price from new, they work as i have used them at home in my back garden but they play up now and again, and having taken them on camp they went out when we moved them.

So i'm guessing they need a service. I have no idea on how to service them or what to get, i have been told to order SP1,2 & 3 but i cant find an SP3 anywhere.

Does anyone know how to service Tilley lamps or where i could get them serviced.
    Regards

Steve Austin
    Assistant Scout Leader
    1st Honeybourne Scout Group

Thanks
    hi yes they are fairly simple first you need to get some spare parts from http://www.tilleylamp.co.uk/
    change the vaporising tube the pump has a kit you can get to replace all the rubbers etc the control knob also has a kit to replace the rubbers use that i bet that cures most of the problems

Grey but not that old Alfbranch's Avatar
    Thanks
    look at this tyo see which bit is which.

Make sure you teach the Scouts how to use them
    Alf

Group Scout leader 1st Hensingham Scouts Western Lakes District
    http://www.hensinghamscouts.org.uk/
    Knives made by me

Only use sharp knives. Blunt knives are more dangerous.

Scout Leader
    Thanks
    Thanks

Are they hard to self service?
    Regards

Steve Austin
    Assistant Scout Leader
    1st Honeybourne Scout Group

ESL
    Thanks

Smile

Basically very easy to DIY service - a pair of pliers and a small adjustable spanner are all the tools you need.