Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New Style Scout Belt/buckle

Thanks

Angry New Style Scout Belt/buckle

I'm quite new to scouting, but managed to get the old, more squared-off belt for my uniform. It is a great belt and I wear it all the time. The 'female' part of the buckle passes easily through my belt loops on all my trousers. the buckle also feels really solid.

However, and this is my gripe coming, I bought my two lads the new version, and to get it on or off the scout trousers (for washing etc...) the buckle diameter is so big that it has to be disassembled to pull the belt through.

After only 5 months of occasional use the belt (is it leather?) looks like its starting to delaminate due to the constant flexing as I attach/detach to buckle and the one of the leather loops which take up and tidy the slack bit of belt is lost, making for a scruffy look.

I'm not very happy with it - has this been brought up as an issue before, or am I fussing too much?
    ABSL 8th Mirfield, Heavy Woollen District, West Yorkshire

ESL, Dearne Devils Explorer Unit, Barnsley Explorers, South Yorkshire

Thanks
    I recently brought the old one as i liked it better!!

Not having the new belt i cant comment on it but listening to the older people in my district who have expanded abit so brought the new belts have moaned:

" back in my day there where alot better" etc etc etc xx
    CSL 2nd Northwood
    AESL Excalibur ESU
    GLMW Scout Network
    NSRA Rifle Instructor

bit of everything!
    Thanks
    My boy's belt only comes off about once a term to wash the trousers, so have had no problems so far.

Scout Leader
    Thanks