Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Risk assessments

Thanks

Risk assessments

I know, I know...but bear with me on this!

In theory we should have a RA for every activity that we organise. I'll be the first to say that most of mine are in my head, not on paper.

If I were to write every RA, for every activity that we do I'd never get any Scouting done.

What I'm proposing is that we share our written RA's here...not with the intention that they are blindly copied and filed, but as a starting point for other Leaders doing similar activities.

I'm not sure how we can share RA's as I'm not that technical TBH...any ideas other than putting them in quotes in a thread?

Simon
    Animadvertistine, ubicumque stes, fumum recta in faciem ferri

(Ever noticed how wherever you stand, the smoke goes right into your face?)

a quiver full of barbs merryweather's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,750 Times in 1,054 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SimonM View Post
    I know, I know...but bear with me on this!
    i'll give you 5 minutes!

In theory we should have a RA for every activity that we organise.
    not a theory; it's a must.

I'll be the first to say that most of mine are in my head, not on paper.
    sigh. here we go again. why do i sense that you believe RAs need to be on paper?

they don't, certainly not if it's something trivial and obvious and which can be easily recalled.

If I were to write every RA, for every activity that we do I'd never get any Scouting done.
    so it's not something i sense! it's something you seem to believe you have to do.

you have to do a RA for every activity you do in scouting. many of these will be trivial and obvious. doing these in your head is not a problem.

you do not for example need to produce a written RA for walking across the m25! you like everyone else can do that one in your head, can't you?

What I'm proposing is that we share our written RA's here...