Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mess tent lighting

Thanks

Mess tent lighting

We have always used gas lights on camps in our mess tent and event shelters which means packing a crate of lights and 3 or 4 gas bottles in an already crammed trailer.

We want to move towards a 12V LED setup with leisure battery especially in the summer months when we don't also need a source of heat. I know there are commercial options out there like this but being an engineer, I'd prefer to create something myself but wondered if anyone else has better ideas than connecting a strip of LEDs to a battery.

So... show us your set up and how you made it.

TIA,
    Adam

Thanks
    Please could you PM me an email address and I'll send you some photos of our leisure battery/LED set up

CSL (In training)
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by fmolesey View Post
    Please could you PM me an email address and I'll send you some photos of our leisure battery/LED set up
    Is that a general offer?

Thanks
    PM sent, thanks!

Thanks
    Thanked 2,048 Times in 1,323 Posts
    Also of interest to us...

We have a generator, but i dont really want to keep running it all evening at camp just to provide light. I'd rather run it during the day to charge whatever needs charging, plus charge the leisure battery, then enjoy the peace and quiet of camp at night. For one or two night camps it might even mean we dont need to take it.
    Dan Spencer

Group Scout Leader 66th Bath
    Deputy District Commissioner (Programme) - City of Bath District
    Nights Away Adviser and member of District Executive Committee - City of Bath District
    Member of Avon County Appointments Advisory Committee
    Event organiser "Be Prepared" Resilience Events
    Formerly CSL, SL, ASL and Jamboree Communications Lead

Web designer

It is not the mountain we conquer but ourselves

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by adamswright View Post