Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Dropbox and GDPR

Thanks

Dropbox and GDPR

Am I right in thinking that we still can't use Dropbox for sharing files because the free account doesn't let you specify that the data remains in the EU?

I haven't seen an update since this post where they state that they allow Business/Enterprise/Education users (with 250+ seats) to host their data in the EU.

Thanks.
    Last edited by oneiros; 09-05-2018 at 08:14 AM.

Thanks
    I'm not an expert so would be interested in what others think but Dropbox themselves say they are compliant (I guess they may not be the most unbiased source).

It would also depend on what data is contained in the files you are storing (GDPR only applies to personal data).

Thanks
    I think Dropbox's statement that they're compliant is with respect to them holding our personal data, not any data that we might be storing.

As you say, GDPR only applies to personal/sensitive data, but the Data Protection Act of 1995 presumably still applies?

Thanks
    Thanked 2,006 Times in 1,268 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oneiros View Post
    I think Dropbox's statement that they're compliant is with respect to them holding our personal data, not any data that we might be storing.

As you say, GDPR only applies to personal/sensitive data, but the Data Protection Act of 1995 presumably still applies?
    DPA1995 only applies to personal data as well. There is no legislation surrounding non-personal data and nor should or would there be.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Neil Williams For This Useful Post:

oneiros (09-05-2018)

Thanks