Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: To Akela or not?

Thanks

To Akela or not?

Hi

as I said on the introduction I'm really new at being a Cubs Section Leader. The guy I replaced wasn't big on the title names and so I've always been Mike to the Cubs and Akela, Bagherra etc are names that haven't been used. A couple of leaders from other sections last week suggested that it is 'nice' to use the Jungle Book monikers as it separates Cubs life from other sections of life. I hadn't really thought about it until then, so I'm curious what are peoples thoughts. Do the names help implement a hierarchy or help with discipline? Do they add to the fun?

Anyone any thoughts on this?

Thanks
    I don't use them. For a while a previous GSL who was acting CSL insisted we all had Jungle Book names, and so I chose to be "Mang" as I have an interest in bats, and as I was only intending to be an occasional helper. (Stop sniggering at the back!). I've been CSL for a couple of years and whilst I did have another assistant leader who was a bit old school and liked to use the names, I've gradually let it slide so now just use my first name. To be honest I tend to find that treating children with a degree of respect rather than like little kids who can't use your first name works better so I've no great desire to reinstate them. No issues with anyone that wants to use those titles but it would be a bit weird now changing to Akela. (As an aside we have a duty Cub each week leading grand howl so they are in effect Akela for that ceremony - that also feels better to me as I'm not acting as some "God" figure".
    Does anyone know what's going on?

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mang21 For This Useful Post:

dragonhhjh (11-02-2020),MikeKGS (11-02-2020)

Thanks
    Thanked 3,450 Times in 1,500 Posts
    I say yes. I like 'akela' as a title.

I'm not a fan of skip etc but Akela has always had a ring of cool about it for me. I'd be Akela if I did cubs. I'm Chris in all other sections.